BCCC Entries flood in for opening BCCC round at Baden Hall



For immediate release

Thursday, March 6th, 2008



Marches 4x4 delighted with early response to 2008 series

Twenty-nine Baden Hall entries received in first hectic week

Former Baja GB winner Ian Rochelle tops first entries


NEWTOWN (Wales): Entries for the opening round of the 2008 Britpart MSA British Cross-Country Championship at Baden Hall in Staffordshire only opened last Saturday. But event officials at Marches 4x4 Motorsport Management have been stunned by the initial response to the first round of the series, which takes place on April 12th-13th.


This year’s six-round championship will benefit from the support of new title sponsor Britpart, who make quality parts for various Land Rover models.   Britain’s premier off-road series has increased in popularity in recent years, because of the Dakar Rally and the emergence of the increasingly-popular Baja GB, round five of the 2008 FIA International Cup for Cross-Country Bajas.


Event organisers are being forced to limit entries to 65 this season - including the Trophy and Clubmen categories - and competitors are being advised to register their intent to take part in the opening round at the popular Staffordshire venue as soon as possible. Entries close on Friday, March 21st.


Competitors have inundated the Marches 4x4 office in Newtown with enquiries and 29 teams have already registered for the opening round of the season, with two weeks to go before entries close.


Warrington’s Tony Coid and Mike Moran, Oxfordshire’s Ray Kempster, Burnley’s David Nutter and Bridgnorth’s 2006 Baja GB winner Ian Rochelle are four previous competitors who will take part at Baden Hall. Rochelle has made the successful transition to Cross-Country rallying in his powerful Bowler Wildcat and is sure to be one of the favourites for outright victory when he wheels out an exciting new Millington Matseratti at Baden Hall.


There are also several newcomers on the list and drivers from all over the UK have shown an interest in the championship. Ravenshead’s Ian Gregg was the first registration and he has been joined by Darlington’s Graham Porter, Blackburn’s Martin Dean, Wellesbourne’s Dave Harlow, Bradford’s Ronnie Hoyle, Birmingham’s Richard Green and Derby’s Ken Powell.


Simon Bown will take part at Baden Hall and the likes of Hatton’s Stephen Smith, Gisburn’s Justin Birchall, Caxton’s Martin Cox, Rochdale’s Philip Ibbotson and Aberystwyth’s Martin James will also be making the trip to Staffordshire, with James entered the Trophy category in his Land Rover Special.


Of last year’s championship front-runners, Beeley’s Jeremy Fearn looks set to campaign a powerful Bowler Wildcat and St Asaph’s Matt Lowe wheels out a Range Rover Special. Earby’s Carl Duffield is planning to use a Peugeot 206 and Bamber Bridge-based Dan Lofthouse returns with his exciting Lofthouse Proto.


Event officials have also received entry confirmations from John Cockburn, Edd Cobley, Richard Hayward, Tim Dilworth, Mark Andrews, Dick Corking and Ian Bartlett.


“We have limited the number of entries this season and are convinced that we should reach the magical 65 by the end of March, including Trophy and Clubmen registrations,” admitted clerk of the course Selwyn Kendrick. “We are also delighted to welcome Britpart as our title sponsor for the 2008 season.


Kendrick has also confirmed that the second round of the championship will now take place at Driffield on June 7th-8th.


Entry fees for the season have been set at £800. These can be paid in full on entry or by an initial payment of £300 and three post-dated cheques, two of £200 dated June 1st and August 1st and the third for £100, dated September 1st.


There will be new classes for the QT Wildcat and Freelander models, with the latter category introduced to encourage young drivers into the championship.


The championship regulations specify that there will now be four control tyres this year under Article 17 1 D2 of the series regulations. Competitors will be permitted to use the Matador Izzarda AT, the General Tire Grabber AT2, the BF Goodrich All Terrain T/A and the Kumho Road Venture AT KL78.


The Baden Hall timetable will get underway with a noise test and scrutineering from 07.30hrs on Saturday, April 12th and this will be followed by a drivers’ briefing at 09.30hrs. Safari competition is scheduled to start at 10.00hrs and run through until Sunday afternoon, with provisional results being displayed from 15.30 hrs.


Further details and entry information are available from Wendy Tomley (wt@Tomleys.co.uk) or Andy Flynn (af@Tomleys.co.uk) on Tel: + 44 (0) 1686 626641.




For further information:

Neil Perkins, 2008 Britpart MSA British Cross-Country Championship Press Officer, NDP Publicity Services, Mobile: + 44 7831 123153, E-mail: ndppublicity@compuserve.com. www.ndp-publicity.com (press releases).




Date issued: 06/03/2008

For further information or assistance please contact:

NDP Publicity Services
Holly House, Station Road, Newport,
Shropshire TF10 7EN United Kingdom

Tel/Fax: +44 (0) 1952 825001
Mobile: + 44 (0) 7831 123153 (UK)

Email: ndppublicity@googlemail.com

Web: www.ndp-publicity.com

Return to Top          Powered by Infotex UK