BORC Kershaw takes slender series lead into final round in Wales


Radnor, Wales, October 27th-28th - round 5 of 5


For immediate release

Thursday, October 18th, 2007



Richard Kershaw holds slender series lead after round four

David Nutter and David Brown set for Trophy showdown


NEWTOWN (Wales): The 2007 Matador Tyres MSA British Off-Road Championship reaches a dramatic conclusion next weekend (October 27th-28th), when championship contenders Richard Kershaw, Keith Lewis, Gordon Monaghan and John Cockburn head for Radnor forest in Mid-Wales to decide the outcome of the up and coming five-round championship.


The series has already taken an ever-increasing number of competitors to Baden Hall in Staffordshire, Bleddfa in Mid-Wales, Castle O’er in Scotland and Sweet Lamb in Wales. But the outcome will be decided over the tricky forest trails of Radnor, near Knighton, with the event being based near to the Stud Farm in Bleddfa – venue for the first Baja GB in August 2006 – for the second time this year.


Because of bio-security issues, officials at Marches 4x4 Motorsport Management have decided to delay naming the location of the exact headquarters until Wednesday, October 24th, but have confirmed that it will be arrowed from the Stud Farm at Bleddfa and from the nearby Radnor forest entrance.


Huddersfield’s Richard Kershaw has a 10-point advantage over his closest rival Keith Lewis, from Abergavenny, but Preston’s Gordon Monaghan and Stirling’s John Cockburn are within striking distance. Competitors can also drop their worst score after this event, so the permutations are exciting and there is every chance that the outcome of the Matador Tyres-backed series will go down to the final run through the Radnor stage on Sunday afternoon (October 28th).


The Trophy section has been dominated by Burnley’s David Nutter and County Durham’s David Brown this season. The duo have been the class of the field all year and head to Bleddfa with 309 points and 302 points, respectively. Their nearest rival is Chorley’s Matt Lowe, but he only has 159 points, but is the favourite to clinch third place in the series in Wales.


In addition to the many series regulars travelling from all over the UK (officials are expecting between 45 and 60 entrants to take part in next weekend’s event), Chipping Campden’s Mike Jones will make the trip from the Cotswolds to compete alongside the non-registered Martin Dean and Aberystwyth’s Martin James.


Rally headquarters will be arrowed from the Stud Farm at Bleddfa (LD1 7NY) at map reference 148 – SO 224 679 and from the Radnor Forest sign at Monaughty. Teams should turn off the A488 at SO 236 681. There will be no access to the site until Friday morning.


Catering will be supplied by Xtreme Organix throughout the weekend. A full English breakfast will be provided on both Saturday and Sunday mornings, hot drinks and a bar service will be available each day and there will be a curry on Friday evening and stir-fries on Saturday night.


Competitive action will take place throughout Saturday and Sunday (October 27th and 28th).


Baja GB television and DVD coverage


Meanwhile, Marches 4x4 Motorsport Management Limited, who also organised the successful Baja GB this August, have confirmed that a highlight programme of this year’s round of the FIA International Cup for Cross-Country Bajas, will be shown with repeats on the Men and Motors programme on Motors TV on both October 24th and October 27th.


A short clip of the 2007 Baja GB can also be shown on http://www.rallytv.co.uk/videos/free/Bajamovie.wmv. Acceleration TV and Video (ATV) Limited have also confirmed that a 45-minute DVD of this year’s Baja GB will be available for sale in November.


2007 Matador Tyres MSA British Off-Road Championship


Positions after round 4 of 5:



1. Richard Kershaw              305 pts

2. Keith Lewis                        295 pts

3. Gordon Monaghan            286 pts

4. John Cockburn                  270 pts

5. Neil Davey                         254 pts

6. Toby Jefferson                  242 pts

7. Ian Bartram                        234 pts

8. Brian Farmer                     218 pts

9. Alan Kirkland                     216 pts

10. Martin Cox                       205 pts, etc



1. David Nutter                      309 pts

2. David Brown                      302 pts

3. Matt Lowe                          159 pts

4. Tim Hayday                       137 pts

5. Philip Elliott                        70 pts

6. Shaun Godber                   68 pts

7. Roy Taylor                          67 pts

8. Anthony Fern                     3 pts



For further information:

Neil Perkins, NDP Publicity Services, Mobile: + 44 7831 123153, E-mail: ndppublicity@compuserve.com. www.ndp-publicity.com (press releases).





Date issued: 18/10/2007

For further information or assistance please contact:

NDP Publicity Services
Holly House, Station Road, Newport,
Shropshire TF10 7EN United Kingdom

Tel/Fax: +44 (0) 1952 825001
Mobile: + 44 (0) 7831 123153 (UK)

Email: ndppublicity@googlemail.com

Web: www.ndp-publicity.com

Return to Top          Powered by Infotex UK