POOL 2007 Worthington Newport Pool Open first round draws

For immediate release
Tuesday, July 31st, 2007


Inaugural Open champion Trevor switches to Doubles competition

NEWPORT (Shropshire): The first round draw has been made for both the 2007 Worthington Newport Singles and 2007 Worthington Newport Doubles Open tournaments, with 32 players set to play in the singles and 16 pairs in the doubles. All first round matches must be played by the end of August.

Defending champion Paul Trevor has decided not to defend his singles’ title this year, although he has teamed up with Audco’s John Williams in the doubles competition. The pair will play Ian Roberts and Trevor Smith from the Tavern.

In the singles’ competition, last year’s beaten finalist Ray Talbot has been drawn to play Tavern landlord Ian Roberts, while 2006 beaten semi-finalists Kim Worrall and Andy Dean will play Andy Lycett and Ian Perry, respectively.

Revised prize funds for each competition are as follows:

Singles – 1st prize £150 + Newport Singles Open trophy, 2nd prize £75, 3rd prize £40. Doubles – 1st prize £130 + Newport Doubles Open trophy, 2nd prize £80, 3rd prize £40.

Each match will be decided over the best of five frames and Newport Pool League rules will apply. Match winners must send notification of the result by text message to 07831 123153, clearly stating the match score and players’ names.

1st round draws

Kim Worrall (Sutherland Muxton) v Andy Lycett (Tavern)
Ed Keenen (King’s Head) v Irene Wittington (King’s Head)
C. Price (Sutherland Muxton) v Andy Bowsher (King’s Head)
Robert Perry (King’s Head) v K. Warrington (Sutherland Muxton)
Ray Talbot (Tavern) v Ian Roberts (Tavern)
Dave Wilkinson (Tavern) v Greg Heathcote (Audco/Tavern)
Steve Garmson (Tavern) v Dave Price (LSC)
Anthony Heathcote (Audco/Tavern) v Trevor Smith (Tavern)
Russ Woodhouse (Tavern) v Stu Morrey (Tavern)
Neil Perkins (Tavern) v T. Taylor (Junction Inn)
Mick Collins (King’s Head) v Ben Longstaff (Tavern)
Matt Collins (King’s Head) v M. Ashforth (Junction Inn)
Ian Perry (King’s Head) v Andy Dean (Tavern)
G. Taylor (Junction Inn) v Neil Hazeley (LSC)
Colin Pink (Tavern) v David Worrall (Sutherland Muxton)
Charlie Hayward (Sutherland Muxton) v John Williams (Audco)

Anthony Heathcote/Andy Lycett (Audco) v M. Ashforth/J. Owen (Junction Inn)
Neil Perkins/Steve Garmson (Tavern) v Greg Heathcote/Ben Longstaff (Tavern)
Paul Trevor/John Williams (Audco) v Ian Roberts/Trevor Smith (Tavern)
Stewart Adams/Andy Dean (Tavern) v T. Taylor/G. Taylor (Junction Inn)
Kim Worrall/David Worrall (Sutherland Muxton) v Mick Collins/Ed Keenan (King’s Head
Colin Pink/Jimmy Kelly (Tavern) v Dave Price/Neil Hazeley (LSC)
Charlie Hayward/L. Hayward (Sutherland Muxton) v Robert Perry/Ian Perry (King’s Head)
Dave Wilkinson/Ray Talbot (Tavern) v Neil Cartright/Ian Fearnley (Tavern)


For further information:
Neil Perkins, NDP Publicity Services, Tel: 07831 123153

Date issued: 31/07/2007

For further information or assistance please contact:

NDP Publicity Services
Holly House, Station Road, Newport,
Shropshire TF10 7EN United Kingdom

Tel/Fax: +44 (0) 1952 825001
Mobile: + 44 (0) 7831 123153 (UK)

Email: ndppublicity@googlemail.com

Web: www.ndp-publicity.com

Return to Top          Powered by Infotex UK