BHR Hillrally 2006 gets underway from Ruthin next weekend

The HILLRALLY 2006 supported by BRITPART, October 13-15th

For immediate release
Friday, October 6th, 2006


Bumper entry received for final round of the series;
Ian Rochelle bids to add National title to Baja success

RUTHIN (Wales): The HILLRALLY 2006 supported by BRITPART, the final round of this year's Matador Tyres National Hillrally Championship, gets underway next weekend (October 14th-15th) and has attracted an impressive entry.

Running hot on the heels of the successful inaugural Baja GB, which Marches 4x4 Motorsport Management Ltd. hopes will become a round of the FIA International Cup for Bajas as early as 2007, the HILLRALLY 2006 will see Baja GB winner Ian Rochelle bidding to add the Matador Tyres title to his Baja GB triumph. The Bridgnorth builder heads to Ruthin in North Wales with a 16-point lead in the championship over Bromsgrove's James Webb in his Buggy Space Frame.

Preston's Dan Lofthouse won the opening round of the series in Wales in his Proto LD4, while Huddersfield's Richard Kershaw was the winner of round two in Scotland at the wheel of his GSR 206. Both drivers have entered the HILLRALLY, although two consistent finishes have given Rochelle a slight points' advantage heading into the weekend.

There is strength in depth in the impressive entry, with teams from all over the UK heading for the North Wales market town on Friday. Chipping Campden's Michael Jones wheels out his Mitsubishi Shogun, Huddersfield's Matt Harrison switches from his Baja quad to a Milner Pro Truck and Dundrod's Ian Carson will be hoping to improve on the eighth place he achieved in the Scottish Hill Rally.

Ray Kempster makes the trip from Chipping Norton with his Milner Pro Truck, Ruthin's very own Hefin Owen will be hoping that local knowledge gives him an advantage. Owen won the Clubman class in last year's event and lines up alongside Warrington newcomer Mike Moran, the experienced Matlock driver Jeremy Fearn and the Llandeilo-based former South Wales Safari Champion Mick Maskelyne.

David Johnston makes the trip across the Irish Sea from Comber, while Pershore-based championship contender Tom Rimell, Worcester debutant Keith Wylde and Hillrally first timer Peter King, from Penrith, look forward to entering the fray.

Former class winner Henry Webster makes the trip from Middleton Stoney and lines up alongside Knutsford's Chris Ratter (Land Rover), Kidderminster's Tim Henry (Simmbugghini), Halstead's Alex Day, Newcastle's Andy Bayliss, Bedworth's Tim Marsh, Taunton's Pete Rowe and Andrew Glover from Sandbach.

Ruthin's Mark Rennie and Onneley's Gary Sanders-Peppitt head the National B contingent, although Nick Forsyth is also entered. Meanwhile, Richard Gore, Frazer Williams, Dick Corking, Clive Reynolds and Roland Marlow bolster the entry for the main category.

~We are absolutely delighted with the response to the HILLRALLY, so soon after the Baja GB,~ said Chris Tomley, Chairman of the British Cross-Country Committee and Rally Director on the Ruthin event. ~We have had more entries for this event than we did for Baja GB and that proves that the success of the event in August has increased the interest and appeal of this form of the sport. We are hoping to have in the region of 45 starters in Ruthin.~

The weekend's timetable begins on Friday afternoon (October 13th) with scrutineering and documentation between 15.00 hrs and 18.00 hrs at Coleg Llysfasi, near Ruthin, in Denbighshire. The competitive action takes place over the weekend, with the route heading through the Penllyn forest, south east of Bala.

For further information about this year's Hillrally, contact Andy Flynn, E-mail: andy.jan@btinternet.com or Chris and Wendy Tomley. Marches 4x4 Motorsport Management Ltd, E-mail: WT@Tomleys.co.uk.

Spectator information
1. Saturday: Stages in Penllyn Forest, south east of Bala, Spectator Area in forest, access from UCR south of Rhos-y-gwaliau village. Enter forest at Map Ref: SH 953 302 (Sheet 125) and follow spectator arrows for two miles to junction. Stage starts at 09.35 hrs, 12.59 hrs and 15.33 hrs.

2. Sunday: same as above but only 0.5 miles into forest to stage access. Stage starts at 10.05 hrs and 12.33 hrs.

There is no access to the service area for spectators because of limited space. Spectator information will be available from Llysfasi College and from the radio marshal at the stage junction in the spectator area.

Leading entries
Ian Rochelle/Amanda Garratley Bowler Wildcat
Michael Jones/Rick Spurgeon Mitsubishi Shogun
Ray Kempster/Yvonne Kempster Milner ProTruck
Jeremy Fearn/Carl Duffield Bowler Wildcat
James Webb/Chris Hammond Buggy GM Proto
Keith Wylde/Andy Jenner Bowler Wildcat
David Johnston/Tim Hamilton Bowler Wildcat
Matt Harrison/James Baxter Milner ProTruck
Richard Kershaw/Graham BroadbentGSK 206
Pete Rowe/Quentin Wright Land Rover, etc

Positions after round 2 of 3:
1. Ian Rochelle/Amanda Garratley 156 pts
2. James Webb/Chris Hammond 140 pts
3. Tom Rimell/Brian Sleigh 138 pts, etc


For further information:
Neil Perkins, NDP Publicity Services, Mobile: + 44 7831 123153, E-mail: ndppublicity@compuserve.com. www.ndp-publicity.com (press releases).


Date issued: 06/10/2006

For further information or assistance please contact:

NDP Publicity Services
Holly House, Station Road, Newport,
Shropshire TF10 7EN United Kingdom

Tel/Fax: +44 (0) 1952 825001
Mobile: + 44 (0) 7831 123153 (UK)

Email: ndppublicity@googlemail.com

Web: www.ndp-publicity.com

Return to Top          Powered by Infotex UK