XCAT Team Abu Dhabi 5 shadows Victory 3 to finish of opening XCAT race in Zhengzhou


Zhengzhou Grand Prix, October 13-15


· Victory 3 pips Team Abu Dhabi 5 and the Blue Roo to pole position in Zhengzhou

ZHENGZHOU (CHINA): Saturday, October 14: Team Abu Dhabi 5’s Rashed Al-Tayer and Majed Al-Mansoori shadowed Victory 3’s Salem Al-Adidi and Eisa Al-Ali to the finish of the opening race of the UIM XCAT World Championship on Zhengzhou’s Longhu Lake on Saturday.

The two Emirati crews had dominated the pole position qualifying sessions as well, but the Victory 3 benefited from their pole position to finish the 14-lap race 23.4 seconds in front of the crew running out of the Abu Dhabi International Marine Sports Club (ADIMSC).

The Italian duo of Diego Testa and Daniele Martignoni were the surprise package of the first of six XCAT races in the People’s Republic in the space of three weeks. They guided Caccia Engineering 22 to the final slot on the podium and finished over 16 seconds in front of the Blue Roo, crewed by Aussia Brett Luhrmann and Norway’s Pal-Virik Nilsen. The Swedish pairing of Mikael Bengtsson and Erik Stark rounded off the top five in Swecat Racing.

Race one marked an inauspicious start to the new XCAT season for four-time champion Arif Saif Al-Zafeen and his new British team-mate Scott Williams in Al-Wasl 7. The pair were sidelined after two laps of the race.

Etihad Airways is the official carrier for Team Abu Dhabi that is also supported by the Abu Dhabi Sports Council and runs under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Bin Khalifa Al-Nahyan, advisor to the Head of State and chairman of the board of directors of the Abu Dhabi International Marine Sports Club and under the guidance of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Sultan Bin Khalifa Al-Nahyan, Vice-President and CEO of the ADIMSC. The racing team runs under the auspices of the ADIMSC and board member and general manager Salem Al-Remeithi.

Qualifying and practice

Race qualifying was split into three sessions. All 11 boats took to the water for Q1, but the Fujairah Team was disqualified under the new regulations for fielding a boat that was under the weight restriction of 2,400kg. Team Abu Dhabi 5 ran for seven laps and carded the best time of the session – a last tour of 2min 12.357sec to storm through to Q2. Lady Spain was a mere half a second behind and Victory 3 was third.

The Fujairah Team was again omitted from the six-boat Q2 results sheet in a session where Team Abu Dhabi 5 came out on top again with a solitary lap of 2min 11.353sec from Victory 3, the Blue Roo and 222 Offshore.

The fastest three made it through to Q3 and Victory 3 stole a march on Team Abu Dhabi 5 and the Blue Roo to claim pole position with a winning lap of 2min 10.266sec. Al-Tayer and Al-Mansoori were second with 2min 12.129sec and the Australian-Norwegian pairing of Brett Luhrmann and Pal-Virik Nilsen rounded off the timings with a 2min 13.188sec lap to claim third place. 222 Offshore and Lady Spain were fourth and fifth from their Q2 times.

Team Abu Dhabi made a strong start in Friday morning’s first practice session and Al-Tayer and Al-Mansoori slotted into second position behind Victory 3’s Salem Al-Adidi and Eisa Al-Ali, who ran a best lap of 2min 12.516sec. Swecat Racing, Lady Spain and 222 Offshore rounded off the top five. The Blue Roo, Raheeb, New Star, the Fujairah Team, Al-Wasl and Caccia Engineering completed the list of 11 boats who took to the water.

Further official practice will be permitted from 11.00hrs on Sunday morning and precedes the second Zhengzhou Grand Prix starting at 14.30hrs (10.30hrs UAE time).

2017 Zhengzhou Grand Prix – race 1 result:
1. Victory 3 – Salem Al-Adidi (UAE)/Eisa Al-Ali (UAE) 32min 35.68sec
2. Team Abu Dhabi 5 – Rashed Al-Tayer (UAE)/Majed Al-Mansoori (UAE) @23.49sec
3. Caccia Engineering 22 - Diego Testa (ITA)/Daniele Martignoni (ITA) @37.68sec
4. The Blue Roo (Team Australia) 8 – Brett Luhrmann (AUS)/Pal-Virik Nilsen (NOR) @53.34sec
5. Swecat Racing 2 - Mikael Bengtsson (SWE)/Erik Stark (SWE) @1min 23.86sec
6. Fujairah Team 20 – Serafino Barlesi (ITA)/Alessandro Barone (ITA) @1min 28.11sec
7. 222 Offshore 20 - Giovanni Carpitella (ITA)/Joakhim Kumlin (SWE) @1min 37.21sec
8. New Star 9 – Mikhail Kitashev (RUS)/Dmitry Vandyshev (RUS) 3. Fujairah Racing @2min 11.12sec
9. Raheeb 17 – Abdullatif Al-Omani (KWT)/Mustafa Al-Dashti (KWT) 2. Al&Al 1 lap behind
DNF. Al Wasl 7 - Arif Saif Al-Zafeen (UAE)/Scott Williams (GBR) retired – after lap 2
DNS. Lady Spain 46 – Roberto Lo Piano (ITA)/Andrea Comello (ITA)
- Ends -

For further media information and information about Team Abu Dhabi:
Please contact: Khalid Al Saadi, Media Incharge, Abu Dhabi International Marine Sports Club, P.O. Box 45656, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, Mobile Telephone: + 971 50 768 6761, E-mail: alsaadi@adimsc.ae.





Date issued: 14/10/2017

For further information or assistance please contact:

NDP Publicity Services
Holly House, Station Road, Newport,
Shropshire TF10 7EN United Kingdom

Tel/Fax: +44 (0) 1952 825001
Mobile: + 44 (0) 7831 123153 (UK)

Email: ndppublicity@googlemail.com

Web: www.ndp-publicity.com

Return to Top          Powered by Infotex UK