F1 Alex Carella dramatically disqualified from Grand Prix of France


19th Grand Prix of France, June 26-28


Victory handed to Kuwait’s Youssef Al-Rubayan; Andersson promoted to second

ÉVIAN-LES-BAINS (FRANCE): Monday, June 29: Team Abu Dhabi’s Alex Carella was dramatically disqualified from the 19th Grand Prix of France, round two of the UIM F1 H20 World Championship, after we closed for press on Sunday evening.

The Italian had dominated the 34-lap race from lap 17 to the chequered flag and looked to have a two-point lead in the World Championship. But the decision was taken to disqualify the three-time champion after UIM officials decided that the set-up of his boat contravened regulations.

Finland’s Sami Selio also slipped down the rankings from second to fifth after being awarded a one-lap penalty for striking and damaging a turn buoy. The controversial decision meant that Kuwait’s Youssef Al-Rubayan claimed his first ever Grand Prix win and Shaun Torrente of the Victory Team regained the championship lead and moved up from sixth to fourth overall after fuel filter issues had cost him second overall near the end of the race.

Team Abu Dhabi is supported by Etihad Airways as the official carrier and sponsor and runs under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Bin Khalifa Al-Nahyan, advisor to the Head of State and chairman of the board of directors of the Abu Dhabi International Marine Sports Club (ADIMSC).

The team is managed by the Italian nine-time UIM F1 H20 World Champion Guido Cappellini and recruited the services of former Qatar Team engine builder Brendan Power shortly after the opening race in Doha in March.

2015 UIM F1 H2O World Championship – after round 2 (updated):
1. Shaun Torrente (USA) Victory Team 29 pts
2. Jonas Andersson (SWE) Team Sweden 24 pts
2. Youssef Al-Rubayan (KUW) F1 GC Atlantic Team 24 pts
4. Philippe Chiappe (FRA) China CTIC Team 15 pts
4. Filip Roms (FIN) Mad-Croc Baba Racing Team 15 pts
6. Erik Stark (SWE) Team Nautica 12 pts
7. Sami Selio (FIN) Mad-Croc Baba Racing Team 7 pts
7. Alex Carella (ITA) Team Abu Dhabi 7 pts
9. Marit Stromoy (NOR) Team Nautica 6 pts
10. Jesper Forss (SWE) Team Sweden 5 pts, etc

- Ends -

For further media information and information about Team Abu Dhabi:
Please contact: Khalid Al Saadi, Media Incharge, Abu Dhabi International Marine Sports Club, P.O. Box 45656, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, Mobile Telephone: + 971 50 768 6761, E-mail: alsaadi@adimsc.ae.


Date issued: 29/06/2015

For further information or assistance please contact:

NDP Publicity Services
Holly House, Station Road, Newport,
Shropshire TF10 7EN United Kingdom

Tel/Fax: +44 (0) 1952 825001
Mobile: + 44 (0) 7831 123153 (UK)

Email: ndppublicity@googlemail.com

Web: www.ndp-publicity.com

Return to Top          Powered by Infotex UK