NPL Marston's Newport Pool League set to start on October 21st


For immediate release
Thursday, October 8th, 2015


NEWPORT (Shropshire): The 2015/2016 Marston’s Newport & District Pool League, one of the most popular of its kind in the Midlands, gets underway on Wednesday, October 21.

A capacity 18-team field will do battle over 34 weeks and the season reaches a climax on Wednesday, July 6th with the Neil Clark Memorial Trophy final and official league prize giving at the Royal Navy Club.

Market Drayton’s Stag have won the last two league titles and added the Neil Clark Memorial Trophy to their list of silverware for the second successive year. They field a strong side again this season, featuring Shropshire county protégé and recent knockout winner George Allen and rising star Kyle Smith.

Shakespeare A won the Newport Plate and Neil Clark Consolation Shield double last season, but they have switched venues this year and have been renamed the Honeysuckle Harriers, alongside a second Hawks team from the Honeysuckle.

The Railway Tavern and LSC at the Tavern have been replaced by an experienced new team from Wrockwardine Wood Football Club and a new line-up from the Royal Victoria Hotel. Pheasant A have moved to the Sutherland Arms in Tibberton, but the other 12 teams remain relatively unchanged.

Matches, as per Newport tradition, are fought out over four singles and two doubles frames and are played to Old English EPA rules and take place on Wednesday evenings from 20.30hrs.

The only rule change this season features the break. A coin will be tossed to determine the first break and players from each team will then alternate breaks for the next five frames.

The league has been organised and promoted by Neil Perkins of NDP Publicity Services since the end of the 2006-2007 season when there were just nine teams.

“I would like to thank our new title sponsor Marston’s for coming on board for the first time and providing us with a prize fund for the league, plate and cup winners and runners-up and for the player who tops the averages at the end of the year,” said Perkins.

“Also we extend a welcome return to WWFC after several years away from the league and a warm welcome to a new team from the Royal Victoria Hotel. Plus, special thanks go to Paul Lloyd of Inter County Couriers for sponsoring our fixture cards printed by Ed Keenan of Novascope.”

Previous winners include Audco (2008 – 11 teams), Audco A (2009 – 14 teams), NRBL (2010 – 16 teams), King’s Head A (2011 – 16 teams), NRBL A (2012 – 16 teams), Horns B (2013 – 18 teams) and Stag Market Drayton (2014 and 2015 – 18 teams).

The Neil Clark Memorial Trophy will run in conjunction with the league and the first round draw will take place at the Honeysuckle on November 18th.

Week 1 fixtures – Wednesday, October 21st, 20.30hrs:
Junction A v Navigation Gnosall
Stag Market Drayton v King’s Head B
Pheasant v Shakespeare
Royal Victoria Hotel v Sutherland Arms Tibberton
King’s Head A v Royal Navy Club
Wheatsheaf v Junction B
Haberdashers Arms v Honeysuckle Harriers
Honeysuckle Hawks v Horns Gnosall
Newport Legion v WWFC


For further information:
Neil Perkins, NDP Publicity Services, Tel: 07831 123153






Date issued: 08/10/2015

For further information or assistance please contact:

NDP Publicity Services
Holly House, Station Road, Newport,
Shropshire TF10 7EN United Kingdom

Tel/Fax: +44 (0) 1952 825001
Mobile: + 44 (0) 7831 123153 (UK)

Email: ndppublicity@googlemail.com

Web: www.ndp-publicity.com

Return to Top          Powered by Infotex UK