CC FIA World Cup lead for Khalifa Al-Mutaiwei after Baja Hungary

Baja Hungary, August 23-26, 2012

For immediate release
Sunday, August 26th 2012


· Russian Boris Gadasin wins Baja Hungary in G-Force Proto

GYÖR (Hungary): Dubai’s Khalifa Al-Mutaiwei and German co-driver Andreas Schulz had heir own fair share of problems, but moved into the lead in the 2012 FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Rallies after a dramatic three-day Baja Hungary finished in Györ on Sunday.

After losing over nine minutes following a collision with a tree on Saturday afternoon, the Fazza Rally Team duo recovered well to reach the finish in seventh overall, on an event where arch-rival Jean-Louis Schlesser retired and failed to score points.

Outright victory fell to Boris Gadasin and Alexey Kuzmich in a G-Force Proto, with Hungarian Karoly Fazekas taking second position in a BMW X5 and Romanian Costel Casuneanu finishing third overall in a Mitsubishi Racing Lancer.

Al-Mutaiwei began the remaining two stages on Saturday afternoon from seventh position, having lost the intercom at the end of the third stage. The terrain was demanding and hard on the car and there were numerous ditches to catch out the unwary.

Without proper communication between the Emirati and co-driver Andreas Schulz, the Fazza Rally Team duo lost a little time in the third of Saturday’s four stages and then hit a tree on the last special of the day, losing nine minutes in the process and slipping out of contention for the outright win.

Rival Jean-Louis Schlesser had already retired his OSC Oscar from the race, so it was imperative that Al-Mutaiwei steered his X-raid-built Mini All4 Racing to the finish after two remaining stages on Sunday morning. Early event leader Vladimir Vasilyev also retired at the end of the second day.

Al-Mutaiwei duly stayed out of trouble through the last two stages to reach the finish in seventh position, just behind sixth-placed Hungarian Erik Korda. Gadasin won the event by the margin of 3min 33sec.

Positions after SS7:
1. Boris Gadasin (RUS)/Alexey Kuzmich (RUS) G-Force Proto 4hr 01min 29sec
2. Karoly Fazekas (HUN)/Albert Horn (HUN) BMW X5 4hr 05min 02sec
3. Costel Casuneanu (ROM)/Maurillo Zani (ITA) Mitsubishi Racing Lancer 4hr 08min 23sec
4. Miroslav Zapletal (CZE)/Maciek Marton (POL) H3 Evo 4hr 10min 48sec
5. Ilya Kusnetsov (RUS)/Roman Elagin (RUS) Mitsubishi MPR13 4hr 15min 39sec
6. Erik Korda (HUN)/Csaba Fabian (HUN) Toyota Hilux 4hr 17min 02sec
7. Khalifa Al-Mutaiwei (UAE)/Andreas Schulz (GER) Mini All4 Racing 4hr 19min 24sec


Neil Perkins, NDP Publicity Services, UK mobile: + 44 7831 123153, E-mail: ndppublicity@googlemail.com
www.ndp-publicity.com (press releases)
Arabic: Firas Nimri, Mobile: + 9662 777 282000, E-mail: nimrifiras@yahoo.com.



Date issued: 26/08/2012

For further information or assistance please contact:

NDP Publicity Services
Holly House, Station Road, Newport,
Shropshire TF10 7EN United Kingdom

Tel/Fax: +44 (0) 1952 825001
Mobile: + 44 (0) 7831 123153 (UK)

Email: ndppublicity@googlemail.com

Web: www.ndp-publicity.com

Return to Top          Powered by Infotex UK