NPO Tigwell crushes Perry in Danfords Motor Auctions Newport Open shocker


For immediate release
Wednesday, July 25th, 2012


NEWPORT (Shropshire): Graham Tigwell knocked last year’s beaten finalist Bob Perry out of the 2012 Danfords Motor Auction Newport Pool Open in straight frames to reach the last 24, as snooker supremo John Williams also progressed to the second round at the expense of Mark Burton in a second tense match at the King’s Head.

Jason Taphouse saw off Adam Stone’s challenge in three frames and Billy Holland took a frame off the in-form Mick Beech at the hostile Railway Tavern, but the NRBL league player prevailed, 1-3.

Greg Quinn had an element of luck to beat Mike Jones in three frames but both defending champion Colin Pink and Trevor Smith cruised into round two with straight frame wins over Gnosall’s Scott Smith and Newport’s Kim Rigby, respectively.

Stafford fishery manager Neil Dale also moved through to round two without dropping a frame against Newport’s Barry Smith. Luke Jones stormed into a 2-0 lead against Neil Perkins before being pegged back to 2-2, but the NRBL B league player prevailed in a tense final frame when Perkins snookered himself on his final black and Jones used his two shots to make a nervy six-ball clearance.

Andy Miles lost his first rack to Keith Rogers but won the next three to book his place in the last 24 when Rogers missed his big chance to level in the fourth frame. Ross Goodchild overcame Mark Hodgkinson in four frames to seal his place in round two and Nigel Sandbrook humbled former champion Mick Collins in four frames on Sarah’s legendary Wheatsheaf cloth.

Mick Beech was in fine potting form as he and Ant Heathcote swept Adam Stone and Stu Morrey aside in three frames in the Shakespeare Newport Doubles Open, although the final frame was re-racked after Morrey left an opposing ball in an impossible potting position.

Defending doubles champion Mick Manning teamed up with George ‘Gerry’ Allen to take on Ashley Vaughan and inaugural Newport Open finalist Ray Talbot. Allen was on fire from the start and three frames of quality potting by the Market Drayton cue accounted for the Newport duo even before Vaughan’s beer had settled.

Ian Roberts and Steve Morrey were taken to a tie-decider by Darren Lowe and Russ Woodhouse, with the latter having a chance to win the match before Morrey struck a brave winning black into the corner pocket to seal a last 16 place.

Lauren Heathcote and Kim Rigby humiliated Donnington’s James Boyd and Nayput’s Billy Holland to reach the last 16 of the doubles competition in four frames.

Laura Brennan overcame a determined young Jess Hilditch in four racks to reach the last six of the Railway Tavern Newport Women’s Open and Kim Rigby played well to beat Maggie O’Brien in three straight frames. Lorna McPhee overcame former finalist and King’s Head team-mate Lyn Day in four starts to reach the last six.

All remaining first round games must be completed by Tuesday, July 31st and results should be sent by text to 07831 123153.

2012 Danfords Motor Auction Newport Pool Open

1st round results
Graham Tigwell (King’s Head) beat Bob Perry (King’s Head), 3-0
Mark Burton (King’s Head) lost to John Williams (NRBL), 1-3
Adam Stone (Tavern) lost to Jason Taphouse (Tavern), 0-3
Billy Holland (Tavern) lost to Mick Beech (NRBL), 1-3
Greg Quinn (Tavern) beat Mike Jones (NRBL), 3-0
Neil Dale (Tavern) beat Barry Smith (Swan), 3-0
Trevor Smith (King’s Head) beat Kim Rigby (Swan), 3-0
Colin Pink (NRBL) beat Scott Smith (Navigation), 3-0
Andy Miles (Tavern) beat Keith Rogers (Junction), 3-1
Neil Perkins (Tavern) lost to Luke Jones (NRBL), 2-3
Nigel Sandbrook (Wheatsheaf) beat Mick Collins (King’s Head), 3-1
Mark Hodgkinson (Wheatsheaf) lost to Ross Goodchild (King’s Head), 1-3

2012 Shakespeare Newport Doubles Open

1st Round results
Ant Heathcote/Mick Beech beat Adam Stone/Stu Morrey, 3-0
Mick Manning/George Allen beat Ashley Vaughan/Ray Talbot, 3-0
Ian Roberts/Steve Morrey beat Darren Lowe/Russ Woodhouse, 3-2

2012 Railway Tavern Newport Women’s Open

1st round results
Laura Brennan beat Jess Hilditch, 3-1
Maggie O’Brien lost to Kim Rigby, 0-3
Lorna McPhee beat Lyn Day, 3-1


For further information:
Neil Perkins, NDP Publicity Services, Tel: 07831 123153

Facebook group: 2011-2012 Newport Pool League and 2012 Newport Pool OPen





Date issued: 25/07/2012

For further information or assistance please contact:

NDP Publicity Services
Holly House, Station Road, Newport,
Shropshire TF10 7EN United Kingdom

Tel/Fax: +44 (0) 1952 825001
Mobile: + 44 (0) 7831 123153 (UK)

Email: ndppublicity@googlemail.com

Web: www.ndp-publicity.com

Return to Top          Powered by Infotex UK