H1 U-1 Spirit of Qatar's Villwock wins opening race in Madison

2012 Air National Guard H1 Unlimited Series

62nd Madison Regatta, round 1 - July 6-8

For immediate release
Monday, July 9th, 2012


· QMSF-backed Villwock wins Heats 1C and 3B
· Qatar-backed driver pips Steve David in qualifying session

MADISON (USA): Dave Villwock, the defending National High Points champion, began his 2012 challenge in the Air National Guard H1 Hydroplane Series by snatching victory in a delayed Lucas Oil Indiana Governor’s Cup final on the Ohio River in Madison, Indiana, on Sunday afternoon.

The Washington State driver runs an Ellstrom Racing hydroplane in the H1 Unlimited series with the backing of Sheikh Hassan bin Jabor Al-Thani and the Qatar Marine Sports Federation (QMSF). He now has a slender 20-point advantage over Florida’s Steve David in the National High Points’ standings.

“It was just the start to the season we needed in tricky conditions,” said the delighted U-1 Spirit of Qatar driver.

Villwock clinched two heat wins, points for being the fastest qualifier and second place in one heat before charging to victory in the final, despite a 50-minute delay because of high winds on the racecourse. The U-1 driver managed to hold off the challenge from home favourite Steve David, with Scott Liddycoat claiming third place and Kip Brown finishing fourth, ahead of J.W. Myers in the Peters & May boat.

Villwock got the weekend off to a perfect start in qualifying. Despite searing heat, the U-1 Spirit of Qatar driver posted the fastest average speed of 148.837 mph to pip Steve David to the 100 points for topping qualifying. David recorded a 148.548 mph tour of the Ohio River course and Jimmy Shane was third in U-5 Graham Trucking.

Villwock got the better of Greg Hopp to clinch 400 points for victory in Heat 1C, with Kip Brown pipping J.W. Myers to 1A success and Steve David ousting Jimmy Shane to take Heat 1B.

David, Villwock, Steve David, Mike Webster and Mark Evans were drawn together for Heat 2C on Sunday and David got the edge to claim the heat win, although Villwock beat Hopp, J. Michael Kelly and Evans in Heat 3B.

The second round of the series takes place in Detroit this coming weekend (July 13-15), when teams tackle the APBA Gold Cup on the Detroit River.

2012 LUCAS OIL Indiana Governor’s Cup Madison Regatta

Position Lap Speed Boat Driver

1. 136.105 1 Dave Villwock Spirit of Qatar
2. 132.132 6 Steve David Oh Boy! Oberto
3. 127.780 88 Scott Liddycoat Degree Men
4. 105.785 17 Kip Brown Miss Red Dot
5. 111.718 11 JW Myers Peters & May

Accumulated Points with Qualifying
Number - Boat Driver Points

U-1 Spirit of Qatar 96 Dave Villwock 1600
U-6 Oh Boy! Oberto Steve David 1580
U-88 Degree Men Scott Liddycoat 1310
U-17 Miss Red Dot Kip Brown 1209
U-11 Miss Peters & May JW Myers 1077
U-100 Leland Unlimited Greg Hopp 855
U-5 Graham Trucking Jimmy Shane 708
U-9 Jones Racing Jon Zimmerman 705
U-57 Formulaboats.com Mark Evans 563
U-22 Great Scott! Mike Webster 480
U-37 Miss Beacon Plumbing J. Michael Kelly 400
U-13 Spirit of Detroit Cal Phipps 30


For further information:
Neil Perkins, NDP Publicity Services, Mobile: + 44 7831 123153, E-mail: ndppublicity@googlemail.com and www.ndp-publicity.com (press releases).

Steve Montgomery, Tel: + 1 206 618 8382, E-mail: scm@montgomerymarketing.com and Gregg Mansfield, E-mail: gregg.m@h1unlimited.com.


Date issued: 09/07/2012

For further information or assistance please contact:

NDP Publicity Services
Holly House, Station Road, Newport,
Shropshire TF10 7EN United Kingdom

Tel/Fax: +44 (0) 1952 825001
Mobile: + 44 (0) 7831 123153 (UK)

Email: ndppublicity@googlemail.com

Web: www.ndp-publicity.com

Return to Top          Powered by Infotex UK