H1 U-1 Spirit of Qatar's Villwock begins title defence in Madison

2012 Air National Guard H1 Unlimited Series

62nd Madison Regatta, round 1 - July 6-8

For immediate release
Wednesday, July 4th, 2012


· QMSF-backed Villwock eyes 66th career race victory

MADISON (USA): Dave Villwock, the defending National High Points champion, begins the defence of his crown at this weekend’s Lucas Oil Indiana Governor’s Cup, the opening round of the 2012 Air National Guard H1 Unlimited Series at Madison in the USA.

The Washington State driver, who runs an Ellstrom Racing hydroplane in the H1 Unlimited series with the backing of Sheikh Hassan bin Jabor Al-Thani and the Qatar Marine Sports Federation (QMSF), reverts to the number one for this season, having used Qatar’s number 96 to claim the crown at the Oryx Cup in Doha Bay last November.

The most successful hydroplane racer in history, Villwock has amassed 65 wins since 1992 and won three races last year – in Detroit Tri-Cities and San Diego – on his way to a first National High Points’ title in four years. He overhauled the late Bill Muncey’s total of 62 race wins last season – the retired Chip Hanauer won 61 races and is third in the rankings.

Twelve hydroplanes will take to the water on the Bill Cantrell Memorial course on the Ohio River this weekend, where the QMSF-supported Villwock will line-up against arch-rival Steve David, last year’s Madison winner at the helm of U-6 Oh Boy! Oberto. David won three successive High Points’ titles before Villwock snatched the title back in Doha Bay last autumn.

Other drivers likely to challenge for overall honours in Indiana include J. Michael Kelly in U-37 Schumacher Racing and the 2011 Oryx Cup winner Scott Liddycoat at the helm of U-88 Degree Man. Peters & May, meanwhile, continues its association with J.W. Myers and the U-11 boat, as series promoters are delighted with the strength in depth in the race field for the opening meeting of the season.

Testing and qualifying will take place on Friday (July 6th) and the pole position qualifications will take place on Friday evening (Qatar time).

Teams will be permitted to test further on Saturday morning, with the first heats starting at 13.30hrs (EDT local time). More heats will take place on Sunday, leading up to the Lucas Oils Indiana Governor’s Cup race at 16.20hrs (EDT).

2012 Madison Regatta – entries
U-1 Spirit of Qatar Dave Villwock
U-5 Graham Trucking Jimmy Shane
U-6 Oh Boy! Oberto Steve David
U-9 Holiday Inn Express Jon Zimmerman
U-11 Peters & May J.W. Myers
U-13 Spirit of Detroit Cal Phipps
U-17 Miss Red Dot Kipp Brown
U-22 Great Scott! Mike Webster
U-37 Schumacher Racing J. Michael Kelly
U-57 Formulaboats.com N. Mark Evans
U-88 Degree Man Scott Liddycoat
U-100 Leland Unlimited Greg Hopp


For further information:
Neil Perkins, NDP Publicity Services, Mobile: + 44 7831 123153, E-mail: ndppublicity@googlemail.com and www.ndp-publicity.com (press releases).

Steve Montgomery, Tel: + 1 206 618 8382, E-mail: scm@montgomerymarketing.com and Gregg Mansfield, E-mail: gregg.m@h1unlimited.com.


Date issued: 04/07/2012

For further information or assistance please contact:

NDP Publicity Services
Holly House, Station Road, Newport,
Shropshire TF10 7EN United Kingdom

Tel/Fax: +44 (0) 1952 825001
Mobile: + 44 (0) 7831 123153 (UK)

Email: ndppublicity@googlemail.com

Web: www.ndp-publicity.com

Return to Top          Powered by Infotex UK