DAK Peterhansel snatches second place for Monster Energy X-raid team on opening Dakar stage

33rd Personal Dakar Argentina-Chile (January 1st-16th, 2011)

Stage 1: Buenos Aires-Victoria-Córdoba: liaisons, 377km and 482km; special, 222km (192km for bikes); liaison, 84km; total, 1165 km.

Weather conditions: hot, sunny and humid (heavy rain on stage), 28-32°C

For immediate release
Sunday, January 2nd, 2011


· Chicherit loses time with broken brake disc in new Mini All4 Racing
· Carlos Sainz holds overall lead after first stage into Córdoba
· Holowczyc and Terranova take sixth and seventh for X-raid
· Novitskiy, Dos Santos and Schott hold 10th, 21st and 24th places

CÓRDOBA (Argentina): Stéphane Peterhansel and Jean-Paul Cottret made a professional start to the 33rd Personal Dakar Argentina-Chile for the Monster Energy X-raid Team.

The French duo held second position in their BMW X3 CC after the opening 222km special stage between Victoria and Córdoba, northwest of Buenos Aires, on Sunday, despite clouting a stone and a fence and inflicting minor damage to the rear of their car mid-way through the special.

“It is not so bad, but we made a couple of mistakes and touched a rock once and a fence,” said Peterhansel. “It was raining very hard on the stage and it was not easy to go quickly. For 20kms there was no grip at all and it was a case of being very careful. It is good to get through the first stage without any problems and now we can look forward to tomorrow.”

Guerlain Chicherit and Michel Périn were on course for a top 10 stage finishing time in the new Monster Energy-backed Mini All4 Racing, on a stage where Spain’s Carlos Sainz and Lucas Cruz Senra set the fastest time of 2h 18m 32s and moved into a 1m 31s overnight lead.

But the French pair suffered a broken rear brake disc and was forced to stop and change the component. It took longer than usual because the disc had damaged the wheel and Chicherit lost 57m 45s to Sainz and slipped out of the top 30 in the overall standings.

“I am obviously very happy with the result for Stéphane,” said team director Sven Quandt. “No-one wants to win the first stage and be first on the road on the second day, so we are pleased with this position. Guerlain had a technical problem, but he managed to reach the finish. In some ways the problem has taken some of the pressure away from Guerlain now and he can concentrate on bringing the Mini to the finish.”

One hundred and 70 bikes, 30 quads, 140 cars and 67 trucks began the opening special across central Argentina. Polish driver Krzysztof Holowczyc and Belgian co-driver Jean-Marc Fortin held sixth through the first two checkpoints and eventually finished the flowing, technical special in sixth position in their BMW X3 CC.

Argentina’s Orlando Terranova and Portuguese co-driver Filipe Palmeiro were classified seventh through the third waypoint and held on to take a similar place at the end of the day in their BMW X3 CC. Leonid Novitskiy and Andreas Schulz were classified 11th after the third checkpoint and climbed to 10th at the finish.

Portugal’s Ricardo Leal Dos Santos and Paulo Fiùza finished the stage in 21st position and Germany’s Stephan Schott and Holm Schmidt were the last of the X-raid team’s seven crews to start the stage and eventually finished in an unofficial 24th.

Córdoba hosts the evening’s bivouac and is located near to the geographical centre of Argentina in the foothills of the Sierra Chicas on the Suquia River. Jerónimo Luis de Cabrera founded the city in 1573 and named it after a similar town in Spain.

Tomorrow (Monday) the route of the Dakar heads due north from Córdoba to San Miguel de Tucumán, a former base for the Rally of Argentina in the formative WRC years.

There is a totally new 324km stage for Dakar competitors, which includes three passage controls and passes through areas of bushland and the Salinas Grandes or large salt flats.

Positions after stage 1 (unofficial @17.25hrs):
1. Carlos Sainz (E)/Lucas Cruz Senra (E) Volkswagen Race Touareg 2h 18m 32s
2. Stéphane Peterhansel (F)/Jean-Paul Cottret (F) BMW X3 CC 2h20m 03s
3. Nasser Saleh Al-Attiyah (QA)/Timo Gottschalk (D) Volkswagen Race Touareg 2h 20m 48s
4. Mark Miller (USA)/Ralph Pitchford (ZA) Volkswagen Race Touareg 2h 22m 49s
5. Giniel de Villiers (ZA)/Dirk von Zitzewitz (D) Volkswagen Race Touareg 2h 23m 38s
6. Kryzsztof Holowczyc (PL)/Jean-Marc Fortin (B) BMW X3 CC 2h 25m 39s
7. Orlando Terranova (RA)/Filipe Palmeiro (P) BMW X3 CC 2h 28m 43s
8. Robby Gordon (USA)/Andy Grider (USA) Hummer 2h 29m 36s
9. Guilherme Spinelli (BR)/Youssef Haddad (BR) Mitsubishi Lancer 2h 30m 32s
10. Leonid Novitskiy (RUS)/Andreas Schulz (D) BMW X3 CC 2h 32m 13s

Other X-raid teams
21. Ricardo Leal Dos Santos (P)/Paulo Fiùza (P) BMW X3 CC 2h 48m 17s
24. Stephan Schott (D)/Holm Schmidt (D) BMW X3 CC 2h 49m 03s
61. Guerlain Chicherit (F)/Michel Périn (F) Mini All4 Racing 3h 16m 17s


Further information and photos are available at www.x-raid.de or contact Stefanie Marquard/Thomas Quandt at X-raid GmbH, Tel: + 49 (0) 6147 204670, E-mail: s.marquard@x-raid.de and t.quandt@x-raid.de.

Date issued: 02/01/2011

For further information or assistance please contact:

NDP Publicity Services
Holly House, Station Road, Newport,
Shropshire TF10 7EN United Kingdom

Tel/Fax: +44 (0) 1952 825001
Mobile: + 44 (0) 7831 123153 (UK)

Email: ndppublicity@googlemail.com

Web: www.ndp-publicity.com

Return to Top          Powered by Infotex UK