NPO 2010 Carling Newport Pool Open gets underway



For immediate release

Tuesday, July 6th, 2010




NEWPORT (Shropshire): The first round draw has been made for the 2010  Carling Newport Pool Open, the Worthington’s Newport Pool Doubles Open and the Fusion Hair and Beauty Newport Women’s Open. Thirty-six singles players, 17 doubles pairs and 12 ladies have entered the three respective competitions.


Defending singles champion, Brendan Ruttledge, from Stafford, faces a tricky encounter against Telford’s Charlie Hayward, while the tie of the round in the doubles competition is the clash between former champions, Antony Heathcote and Andy Lycett, and Mick Beech and Colin Farge at Newport Legion.


A preliminary round in the doubles will take the numbers down to the necessary 16 teams, although byes will come into operation in round two for both the ladies and singles competitions.


All matches will be played to Newport Pool League rules over the best of five frames at a venue to be decided by the home player.


The away player must make contact with the home player to decide the date and time of the match, but all preliminary matches and first round games must be completed by Tuesday, August 3rd.


Contact numbers will be left in the relevant venues this week or are available by texting 07831 123153.


2010 Carling Newport Singles’ Open


1st round draw

Ross Richards-Jones (Shake) v John Williams        

Brian Sumner (NRBL) v Andy Potter                                

Jamie James (King’s Head) v Neil Haseley

Brendan Ruttledge (Railway) v Charlie Hayward                                    

James Searles (Railway) v Mick Beech                                 

Chris Nolan (WWFC) v Mick Collins              

Irene Whittington (King’s Head) v Colin Pink    

Ian Roberts (Railway) v Richard Talbot                             

Kim Rigby (Shake) v Mike Matthews

Ian Perry (King’s Head) v Russ Woodhouse

Colin Farge (NRBL) v Neil Perkins                                      

Cyril Evans (NRBL) v Will Edge

Mike Jones (Shake) v Chris Broomhall

Dave Price (LSC) v Antony Heathcote

Luke Jones (Shake) v Ian Lewis

Keith Rogers (Junction) v Ben Longstaff

Edd Keenan (King’s Head) v Marc Simpson

Richard Young (Shake) v Luke Hayward


2010 Worthington’s Newport Doubles Open


Preliminary round

Brendan Ruttledge/Will Edge (Railway) v Mike Jones/Luke Jones



1st Round draw

Ruttledge/Edge or Jones/Jones v Sam Stewart-Frost/Kim Rigby  

Cyril Evans/Brian Sumner (NRBL) v Ade Darrell/James Grice            

Ian Perry/Rob Perry (King’s Head) v Mick Manning/Colin Pink    

Lyn Woodhouse/Irene Whittington (King’s Head) v Mike Matthews/Tony Rhodes

Neil Perkins/Ben Longstaff (King’s Head) v Hannah Evans/Hazel Ford-Lewis

Mick Beech/Colin Farge (NRBL) v Anthony Heathcote/Andy Lycett      

Mick Collins/Ed Keenan (King’s Head) v Luke Hayward/Charlie Hayward    

Ian Roberts/Steve Morrey (Railway) v Dave Price/Neil Haseley


2010 Fusion Hair & Beauty Newport Women’s Open


1st round draw

Hazel Ford-Lewis (Shake) v Helen Atkins

Sam Stewart-Frost (Shake) v Lucy Hennessey

Margaret O’Brien (King’s Head) v Irene Whittington

Hannah Evans (Shake) v Natasha Pugh

Lyn Woodhouse (King’s Head) v Chris Perry

Kim Rigby (Shake) v Louise Anyon


All first round ties to be played by Tuesday, August 3rd.  Results should be sent by text message to 07831 123153, clearly stating the names of players and the score.  



For further information:
Neil Perkins, NDP Publicity Services, Tel: 07831 123153


Facebook group: 2009 Newport Pool Open





Date issued: 06/07/2010

For further information or assistance please contact:

NDP Publicity Services
Holly House, Station Road, Newport,
Shropshire TF10 7EN United Kingdom

Tel/Fax: +44 (0) 1952 825001
Mobile: + 44 (0) 7831 123153 (UK)

Email: ndppublicity@googlemail.com

Web: www.ndp-publicity.com

Return to Top          Powered by Infotex UK