DAK Joan Roma maintains fourth into La Serena

31ST DAKAR RALLY (January 3rd-January 18th, 2009)

Leg 8: Valparaiso - La Serena
Liaison, 245 km; special, 294 km; liaison, 113 km; total, 652 km.

Weather conditions: cool, cloudy and misty, 10 degrees Centigrade, rising to 26 degrees Centigrade.

For immediate release
Sunday, January 11th, 2009


· Nail in tire costs Roma potential third place on stage

LA SERENA (Chile): Team Repsol Mitsubishi Ralliart maintained its chances of clinching a podium finish in the 2009 Dakar Rally, when Joan 'Nani' Roma and Lucas Cruz Senra (both Spain) set the fourth fastest time on the 294km special stage between Valparaiso and La Serena in Chile on Sunday.

Roma and Senra had the additional responsibility of carrying the full weight of the team's effort into the second week of the Dakar, but the pair were unfazed by the added pressure of needing to set competitive times, but also make sure they made no mistakes.

Roma was classified as the third fastest driver through the opening passage control at the 180km point of the 294km special stage. He trailed Dieter Depping (Germany) by a mere three seconds and was running 33 seconds quicker than Mark Miller (USA), although Carlos Sainz (Spain) maintained a healthy stage lead.

Sainz maintained his pace to extend his overall lead to 10m 57s, but Roma slipped three seconds behind Miller over the closing kilometres when a nail punctured a rear right tire. He eventually set the fourth fastest time, although a second slow puncture failed to prevent him from maintaining fourth overall.

Of the original 530 entrants in the 2009 Dakar Rally, 337 teams restarted out of Valparaiso on Sunday morning, with numerous back-markers benefiting from the ASO's decision to permit any non-seeded vehicle that did not complete legs five and six to restart with 200 hours' of penalties. Therefore, 156 bikes and quads, 116 cars and 65 trucks set out into the stage to La Serena.

Tomorrow (Monday) the route continues its move north along the length of the longest country in the world to reach Copiapó in the Atacama desert, the highest and driest area of its kind in the world and one of the most important mining regions of recent years.

Teams will need to pass more sand dunes towards the end of the 449km stage, which starts 88km from La Serena at Trés Cruces, and finishes at the Copiapó bivouac after five passage controls, including three near Vallenar, Algarrobal and Punta de Diaz.

At 390 metres above sea level, Copiapó is the capital of the Atacama region and of the province of the same name and lies on the Copiapó River. It lies in an area rich in silver and copper deposits and has become a major mining centre in recent years following a boom in demand for commodities.

Overall positions on leg 8 (unofficial @ 16.00hrs):
1. Carlos Sainz (E)/Michel Périn (F) Volkswagen Race Touareg (T1.2)  3h 47m 19s
2. Dieter Depping (D)/Timo Gottschalk (D) Volkswagen Race Touareg (T1.2)        3h 51m 21s
3. Mark Miller (USA)/Ralph Pitchford (ZA) Volkswagen Race Touareg (T1.2) 3h 51m 31s
4. Joan 'Nani' Roma (E)/Lucas Cruz Senra (E) Mitsubishi Racing Lancer (T1.2) 3h 51m 34s
5. Giniel de Villiers (ZA)/Dirk von Zitzevitz (D) Volkswagen Race Touareg (T1.2) 3h 58m 07s
6 Guerlain Chicherit (F)/Matthieu Baumel (F) BMW X3 CC (T1.2)   3h 58m 51s

Overall positions after leg 8:
1. Carlos Sainz (E)/Michel Périn (F) Volkswagen Race Touareg (T1.2)            27h 29m 59s
2. Giniel de Villiers (ZA)/Dirk von Zitzevitz (D) Volkswagen Race Touareg (T1.2)  27h 40m 56s
3. Mark Miller (USA)/Ralph Pitchford (ZA) Volkswagen Race Touareg (T1.2)       27h 48m 04s
4. Joan 'Nani' Roma (E)/Lucas Cruz Senra (E) Mitsubishi Racing Lancer (T1.2)   28h 03m 30s
5. Robbie Gordon (USA)/Andy Grider (USA) Hummer (Open 1)             29h 02m 00s
6. Krzysztof Holowczyc (PL)/Jean-Marc Fortin (B) Nissan Navara (T1.2)           30h 27m 04s
7. Ivar Erik Tollefsen (N)/Quin Evans (GB) Nissan Navara (T1.2)            30h 55m 31s
8. Dieter Depping (D)/Timo Gottschalk (D) Volkswagen Race Touareg (T1.2)     32h 21m 44s
9. René Kuipers (NL)/Filipe Palmeiro (P) BMW X3 CC (T1.2)             33h 03m 42s
10. Toni van Deijne (NL)/Wouter Rosegaar (NL) Mitsubishi Pajero             33h 27m 48s

What they said?

Dominique Serieys, team director
"It was a good result for 'Nani' today, particularly after the rest day. He was fast and he lost some time with a puncture. He was unlucky with a nail in the tire. Nothing special really, 'Nani' is happy and we will hope for the same tomorrow."

Joan 'Nani' Roma
"It was a nice stage. Some corners are tight and it is certainly interesting with a big car. I was lucky in some parts, but the nail in the tire was really bad luck. Anyway, the stage was okay for us. Everyone in our team is really motivated to catch the Volkswagens. For me, I always drive for everyone in the team and I want to keep pushing at the same speed for everyone. There is still a long way to Buenos Aires and anything is possible."

Lucas Cruz Senra
"We had two punctures today. One was a slow one and one was a nail through the side of the tire about 100km from the end of the stage and it cost us third place. It was similar to a WRC stage today, but maybe a few more stones than a world rally. Giniel (De Villiers) lost 10 minutes today, so anything can happen. It is important that we keep our position for now."

Live footage of the 2009 Dakar Rally can be seen on Eurosport at the following times:

18.05 hrs GMT - 18.30 hrs GMT
22.00 hrs GMT - 22.45 hrs GMT


Please visit:

and for further information, please contact:
LEDDERHOF Margaret: m.ledderhof@mitsubishi-motor-sports.com
TESHIMA Masatoshi: m.teshima@mitsubishi-motor-sports.com





Date issued: 11/01/2009

For further information or assistance please contact:

NDP Publicity Services
Holly House, Station Road, Newport,
Shropshire TF10 7EN United Kingdom

Tel/Fax: +44 (0) 1952 825001
Mobile: + 44 (0) 7831 123153 (UK)

Email: ndppublicity@googlemail.com

Web: www.ndp-publicity.com

Return to Top          Powered by Infotex UK