NPL Audco B and LSC go top of Newport Pool League



For immediate release
Thursday, November 20th, 2008



NEWPORT (Shropshire): Audco B and Lilleshall Sports Centre are the new joint leaders of the 2008/2009 Newport & District Pool League, after taking hard-earned 4-2 wins against the Navigation and Junction B teams.


Defending champions, Audco A, were held to a 3-3 draw by the Junction A at Norbury, while Wrockwardine Wood FC started their league campaign with a 6-0 demolition of the Navy Club.


Tom Sayce and Jack Jones ensured that Audco B headed into the doubles at 2-2 in their match, after Damien Sayers and John Gibbons had levelled for  Navigation B. But the Newport youngsters sealed both doubles matches to bank the three points and continue their winning start to the season.


LSC and Junction B struggled on a woeful table at Lilleshall, with Mick Ashforth edging Nick Clewley in a comical opening rack. Greg Heathcote levelled for the home side, but Terry Taylor restored the lead for the visitors. Neil Perkins needed a swerve pot on the black to pip S Till and the home side made no mistake in the two doubles matches, with Heathcote securing a tricky final double on the black to seal a nervy match.


Navigation A stormed into a 3-0 lead against the Railway Tavern, with landlord Steve Whitlock, Geoff Arrowsmith and Scott Podmore leading the charge. But the ‘Tav’ hit back with wins for Dean Evans and maximum success in the doubles, with Evans and Aaron Brotherton doing enough in rack six to seal a draw.


Players from the Sutherland Muxton are playing at Wrockwardine Wood FC this season and Luke and Charlie Hayward and Dave and Kim Worrall crushed the Navy Club to start their league season in perfect style with a 6-0 win. Gerry Nunn, Alan Pritchett, Norman Riley and Jez Price were on the end of the hiding in the singles.


Draw specialists Wheatsheaf secured a 3-3 draw away at Shakespeare A. Nigel Sandbrook put the visitors in front, only for Don Brenan to continue his good form to level the match. Cricket and golfing maestro Dave ‘Mash’ Marshall decided to turn his hand to league pool, but he was edged out by the ‘Sheaf’s Al Harvey, although Laura Baker levelled for the home side. Honours were shared in the doubles and both teams bagged a point.


Audco A were held to a 3-3 draw at Junction A. Colin Pink beat Hyla Marklew to set the champions on their way, but Ian Mason put the home side back in contention with a win over Jon Mason. Mick Beech won a long frame against Keith Rogers to put Audco 2-1 in front, only for Steve Roycroft to level the match with a win over Paul Trevor. Honours and the points were shared in the doubles, with Andy Lycett and Beech securing the point against Roycroft and Sion Richards, after Pink and Trevor had lost to Mason and Rogers.


All match forms are to be delivered to Ian Roberts and/or Dave Wilkinson at the Railway Tavern in Newport and match results sent immediately by text message to 07831 123153.


Team registration is £30, including automatic entry into the Neil Clark Memorial Cup, and fees must be paid by the start of December and left with Ian Roberts at the Railway Tavern for the attention of Neil Perkins.


2008-2009 Newport & District Pool latest league table @ 20/11/08


Team                          P            W       D        L        F     A     Pts

Audco B                     2            2         0         0        8      4      6

Lilleshall SC               2            2         0         0        8      4     6

Audco A                     2            1         1         0         8      4     4

Shakespeare A         2            1         1         0         7     5      4

Wheatsheaf               2            1          1         0         7     5      4

King’s Head               1            1          0         0        6      0     3

Wrockwardine FC   1             1           0         0        6      0     3

Junction A                  2            0          1         1        5       7     1

Railway Tavern           2            0         1         1         5      7     1         

Navigation A              2            0          1         1         4      8     1

Junction B                  1            0          0         1         2       4     0

Shakespeare B         1            0          0         1         0       6     0

Navigation B              2            0          0          2        4       8     0

Navy Club                   2            0          0          2        2      10    0


* denotes league fees paid   


Week 2 results  -


Navigation A v Railway Tavern, 3-3

Junction A v Audco A, 3-3

Shakespeare A v Wheatsheaf, 3-3

Lilleshall Sports Centre v Junction B, 4-2

Audco B v  Navigation B, 4-2

Wrockwardine Wood FC v Navy Club, 6-0



For further information:
Neil Perkins, NDP Publicity Services, Tel: 07831 123153







Date issued: 20/11/2008

For further information or assistance please contact:

NDP Publicity Services
Holly House, Station Road, Newport,
Shropshire TF10 7EN United Kingdom

Tel/Fax: +44 (0) 1952 825001
Mobile: + 44 (0) 7831 123153 (UK)

Email: ndppublicity@googlemail.com

Web: www.ndp-publicity.com

Return to Top          Powered by Infotex UK